IMG_1094
Karl Beachem takes a lot of pride in his work. Back home in Mora, he worked at Plastech in Rush City, and in his free time worked on cars and liked to hang out with his Dad. At the Steger Wilderness Center he is “having fun while bustin’ ass”, building walls around The Castle. Although he can do without the bug bites, he says that he is going to keep coming back until The Castle is complete. That kind of determination underscores everything Karl does, even in his off time. Because of his love of hiking and exploring, Karl made a hike to Ely and back on his day off, about 20 miles round trip, to see the wolf pups at the International Wolf Center. Because he didn’t realize that admission was not free and he didn’t bring any money, he did not get to see the wolves, but Karl didn’t complain. He was happy with the journey itself.

Hometown? Occupation? Other background info?

Mora is my homewotwn, I work at Plastech in Rush City. I enjoy working on cars, walking in the woods and hanging out with Dad

Do you have a nickname? What’s the story behind your nickname?

CK, which stands for “Crazy Karl” or “Snow Cheetah” because of my speed

What was your first impression of Will?

Interesting for all the things he’s done and the places he’s gone

What are some strengths you bring to the group?

Hard worker, have fun at work while busting ass, set example and spur others to the task

What do you hope to gain or what are you looking forward to this summer at the Center?

Coming back after the Apprenticeship. Refreshing stone masonry skills

Tell me about some of the interns, residents workers and apprentices

Get along with others, enjoy activities with other. Everyone’s nice and fun to hang out with

Tell me about a memorable moment you’ve experienced so far at the center

Seeing and then working on the Castle. A lot of Nature to explore

What has been the most challenging thing for you so far?

Bug bites

What are some things you miss?

Close friends

What do you wish everyone knew about the center?

That it’s a good place to be if you want to get away

Favorite dishes to eat or cook so far?
Hot hammies

What do you enjoy doing during your free time?
Canoeing, Walking (took a 20 mile walk on your day off), Exploring

Fun fact about yourself?

Like to work hard and easy to get along with

3 words to describe you.

Hard working, laid back, friendly

No Comments

Be the first to start a conversation

Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)